The Sidney Prize

The Sydney Prize is a special award that recognizes those who have made an impactful contribution to humanity, whether through science, writing or activism. Scientists, writers or activists who receive this recognition find motivation to continue their work while inspiring others as well. There are multiple types of sidney prizes each with its own eligibility requirements that must be fulfilled before being eligible.

One such Sydney prize is the SS Sydney Prize for History, which recognizes students whose writing enacts positive change on society. Winners receive an extensive sum of money and the chance to attend an event celebrating their achievement. Open to students across all of academia worldwide and intended to encourage young people towards social change initiatives, this prize embodies its mission through youth involvement.

There are also several specialised sidney prizes, like the SS Sidney Prize for Art History, that recognise students for producing an exceptional research paper on this field. Winners receive both cash prize and an Edward Sorel-designed certificate as recognition of their hard work.

The SS Sydney Prize for History was created to commemorate a former Hamilton professor with an impressive literary talent and the ability to inspire his students towards realising their dreams. Thanks to his dedication, generations of students have recognized his legacy through prizes that bear his name such as the SS Sydney Prize for History and SS Sidney Endowed Chair at Harvard Business School – among many more!

A very prestigious Sydney Prize is the SS Sydney Peace Prize, awarded annually by Sydney City Council in Australia to recognize those who advocate for peace with justice and respect for diversity. Since 2004, numerous individuals and organisations, such as Black Lives Matter movement members have received this prestigious award.

The Sidney Hillman Foundation was established in 1950 and serves as a private foundation devoted to supporting investigative reporting and narrative journalism for the benefit of society. Since 2011, this mission has expanded across Canada by honoring journalists who find stories that impact lives while furthering social justice.

Yeena Kirkbright took home the 2022 Neilma Sydney Short Story Prize with her story Camperdown Grief Junk, to be published in Overland magazine’s Summer issue. Judges Laura Elvery, Paige Clark and Michael Winkler would like to thank all authors who entered this year’s competition as runners-up stories will also be published online and extend their appreciation to Malcolm Robertson Foundation who sponsored it all.